Abe Rábade Trío

Abe Rábade TríoAbe Rábade Trío

The band features since 2008:
Abe Rábade, piano and composition
Pablo Martín Caminero, acoustic bass
Bruno Pedroso, drums

First period

Abe Rábade Trío was founded in 1996 in Boston (EEUU). This first trio featured Galician bassist Paco Charlín and Bulgarian drummer Val Tzenkov. This first period was quite rich in recording sessions and recitals in the context of Berklee College of Music. An important part of the compositions recorded in the following years were written and ensembled during this time.

Award in Getxo, Babel de Sons and Simetrías

In 2000 the band settles in Galiza. It obtained that year the 2nd Prize at the International Contest of Jazz Groups of Getxo (Euskadi). The performance of that night conforms the first album of the trio: Babel de Sons (2001) with Paco Charlín on double bass and Ramón Ángel Rey on drums, new rhythm section that would be mantained until the end of 2004.

In 2002, the group publishes its second work, Simetrías, presented at the Festival de Jazz Plaza de La Habana (Cuba).

Among the many performances of the Abe Rábade Trío during that period the most remarkable are the following Jazz Festival appearances: Plaza de La Habana -edition 2002 (Cuba), Tanger (Morocco), San Sebastián and Getxo (Euskadi); Ibiza and Mallorca (Illes Balears), San Isidro, Jornadas UNED and Boadilla del Monte (Madrid), Gijón and Mieres (Asturias), Málaga (Andalucía), Granollers (Catalunya) as well as Lugo, A Coruña, Santiago, Pontevedra and Baiona (Galiza).

The group had concerts in well known jazz clubs as Café Central (Madrid), Café Latino (Ourense), Jamboree (Barcelona), Nova Jazz Cava (Terrassa), Café España (Valladolid), Manteca Jazz (Vigo) or Dado Dadá Jazz Club (Santiago de Compostela).

The Abe Rábade Trío will be also from this period on the basis for the GHU! Project, a band featuring outstanding jazz soloists such as Chris Kase, Jesús Santandreu or Michel González. This concept is mantained nowadays featuring soloists like Miguel Zenón, Perico Sambeat, Alan Ferber or Toni Belenguer.

Playing on Light

In 2006 the CD Playing on Lightis published. It features Paco Charlín on bass and the new member of the band; Portuguese drummer Bruno Pedroso. The Spaniard Magazine Cuadernos de Jazz chose this album as the Best Jazz Album in Spain 2006.

At the end of 2006 Portuguese bass player Nelson Cascais joins the trio.

The group played actively in clubs such as Hot Clube (Lisboa) or Calle 54, Boguie and Berlín Jazz Café (Madrid) as well as in Jazz Festivals de Jazz such as: Plaza de La Habana -edition 2008 (Cuba), Madeira and Estarreja (Portugal), Parla, Universidad Politécnica and Ciudad Lineal (Madrid), Jaca (Aragón), Jaén (Andalucía), Imaxinasons_Vigo and Allariz (Galiza).

The Abe Rábade Trío composed and performed the original music for the exhibition of Galician silent films Pioneiros do Cinema promoted by the Galician Center of Imaging Arts at the Teatro Principal of Santiago de Compostela (January of 2007).

The group took also part in the live broadcasts for TVG: Celebration of the XXV Anniversary of the Galician Parliament at the Auditorio Caixanova (Pontevedra, 2006) and the Gala of Galician Communication Awards at the Gran Hotel (A Toxa, 2008).

The band recorded also the following 2008 CD productions Rosalía 21 (presented at the Feira del Libro de La Habana -Cuba) and Aloumiños de Seda (comissioned by the General Bureau of Language Policy (Government of Galiza).

Abe Rábade Trío nowadays

Since 2008 the rhythm section of the trio features Pablo Martín Caminero on bass and Bruno Pedroso on drums.

It is remarkable the presentation of the trio work O Movemento dos Soños [The movement of dreams] at the Church of the University of Santiago de Compostela in February, 2009.

In 2010 the album Zigurat is published by Karonte Records. It contains 6 original compostions and a version of Federico Mompou´s Chanson num. 6. Zigurat was presented in the following cities: Berlín, Santiago de Chile, A Coruña, Santiago de Compostela, Ciudad Real, Madrid, Ourense, Vigo and Oviedo.

On April, 2012, Abe Rábade Trio releases its new album: “A Modo”.

Leave a Comment